Worth coming out of retirement for!

Long time no blog! Just a little bit has been going on since my last update. Most importantly this:

and this:

Now that the wedding is over and I’ve settled into motherhood I once again have time on my hands.  I have been thinking about starting the blog back up and was waiting for the right recipe and knowing I would know it when I saw it. This morning was the morning!

I stumbled upon this recipe on http://www.skinnytaste.com. It is an awesome resource of healthy recipes. I have been craving Mexican lately and even though I wasn’t going to touch any of my wedding presents until we moved the Maserati of all crock pots has been calling my name. So when I spotted this recipe this morning I took it as a sign to break that baby in and satisfy my craving at the same time.

The recipe in its original format (and much prettier pictures) can be found here.  As per usual, based on what I had in my pantry I tweaked it a little bit.  I also halved the portions.

Crock Pot Santa Fe Chicken

3/4 LB Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast

8 oz Chicken Broth

1/2 Can Diced Tomatoes

1/2 Can Black Beans

4 oz Trader Joes Fire Roasted Corn

1/4 Cup Cilantro

2 Scallions, chopped

1/2 t diced jalepeno

1/2 t cumin

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t cayenne pepper

Jane’s Crazy Mixed Up Salt

Combine in crock pot: chicken broth, beans, corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, jalepeno, spices.

Place chicken breast on top of mixture. Season with Jane’s Crazy Mixed Up Salt. Cook on low for 7.5 hours. Shred chicken with fork and continue to cook another 30 minutes.

There are so many ways that you could serve this dish. It would be delicious as a taco or burrito filling, on top of nachos or a salad, with mexican rice or as I chose to eat it, as a quasi tortilla soup garnished with avocado, light sour cream, cheese and cilantro.

So simple. So healthy. So good! In an odd way it reminded me of my mom/grandmothers chicken soup kicked up a notch. Yum! Yum! Yum!

Buenes Noches!

One response to “Worth coming out of retirement for!

  1. Whoo hoo!! Glad you’re back! I was hoping to see something soon!

Leave a Reply

