Portobello Pizza

With about 3 minutes to go on the elliptical I realized that I was ravenous! Am I  the only one this happens to? I’m fine one minute and then the next it’s like I am going to die if I do not get something to eat. I managed to squeak out the last 3 minutes and rushed back home for some nourishment.

Something about an egg on a toasted sandwich thin that just never lets me down! This held me over for a few hours until I found myself staring into the almost bare fridge and wondering what I could put together to save myself from a trip to the store.

I spotted a big Portobello  and thought I would venture into pizza making.

I started by lightly rubbing it in olive oil and then adding S&P.

I cooked it face down over medium low heat for about 5 minutes. While that was cooking I mixed 1 spoonful of ricotta, 2 spoonfuls of Trader Joe’s Garlic Marinara and a small handful of a shredded 4 cheese blend. I then flipped the mushroom onto it’s backside  and covered the face of it with the mixture.

Added some fresh basil and 2 pepperoni and transferred it to a 425 degree oven. If you do this be careful not to come in contact with the oven unless you want a finger that looks like so:

Pretty, huh? Well done Ginny!

After about 7 or 8 minutes I had a really gooey mess on my hands and it was delicious!! Definitely curbed the pizza craving I’ve been having lately. I think next time I’ll go with a little less cheese 🙂

Hope you all have great weekend plans! We are wrapping up the wedding venue selection process. I will be so excited to have a place and a date on the books!! I must say, I could get used to the wooing that is going on. One of the hotels is treating us to dinner at La Croix tomorrow night. Clearly they know the way to my heart!! We went there in May for Uncles birthday and ate like kings!

Can’t wait to do it all over again. Just wish we were going to have the same great company!!

One response to “Portobello Pizza

Leave a Reply

