Cobbler, Nuggets and Beans Oh My!

I was just looking at my pictures and man a lot happens in this kitchen when I don’t post for one day! So let’s get right to it.

On the way back from Virginia this weekend we stopped at a farm stand. To my wonderment it was on the honor system and there was a cash box. You just picked the fruits/vegetables that you wanted and put the cash in the box. We stocked up on a bunch of stuff including blueberries and blackberries. After looking at them on my counter for a couple of days I decided that clearly the best way to use them was in a cobbler!

Aren’t they pretty?

The first thing that I did was combine them (roughly 3 cups of berries) with 1/3 Cup of OJ and 3 T of Splenda and place in an 8×8 baking pan like so.

Combined the dry ingredients. 1/3 C of all purpose flour, 1/3 C of whole wheat flour, 1/4 t. baking powder, pinch of salt and set aside.

I love any recipe that lets me use my pretty Breville mixer 🙂 Into that I added 1/2 C Smart Balance Butter, 1/2 sugar (the real stuff!). I mixed until they were fluffy and then added 1 egg and 1 tsp of vanilla.

Once this was mixed I slowly added the dry ingredients and until everything was combined. Then added this buttery sugary goodness by rounded tablespoons to the top of the berries. Finally I sprinkled the top with cinnamon and then popped it into a 375  oven for 35 to 40 minutes.

The end result:

The CBF proclaimed it to be the best cobbler of any type he had ever eaten from anywhere! The greatest part is that he never even realized it was tweaked with whole wheat flour, splenda and smart balance butter.  You really can mix healthy into an otherwise indulgent recipe and not even tell the difference. I really believe it’s these little steps over time that build up to big changes in our overall health!

At the same farmers stand we bought fresh string beans. I have to admit that this was my first time cooking string beans that weren’t from a can. Being from the south I like my vegetables cooked until all of the nutrients are cooked right out and then cooked a little bit more. But I found this recipe on Oh She Glows and decided to give it a whirl.

The first step was to wash the string beans. Check.

Then I removed the ends and placed in a baking dish along with 2 t of olive oil, 2 t of balsamic vinegar and S & P.

I baked them at 400 for 35 minutes and served them along side some incredible chicken nuggets.

The beans were fine. Honestly, I prefer them cooked all day with a little bit of ham hock. But these are much quicker to prepare and much healthier. Now back to the chicken nuggets! Almost 3 years ago I visited my friends Rachel and Mark in Boston. Side note, they introduced me to the CBF so we LOVE them! While there Rachel and I were having dinner one night with their 3 little girls. She fixed what were the best chicken nuggets that I’d ever eaten. She said she had gotten them at Whole Foods. At the time I was living in Richmond and it was pre-WF Richmond. Then I moved to California and faithfully looked in Whole Foods all of the time but they never had the right brand. Tuesday I was in my local Whole Foods here in Ardmore and this blue box caught my eye.  By this time I had forgotten the name but the box looked familiar. I was so excited when I took my first bite and jackpot! It was them!!! Now, unfortunately the entire box has been consumed and I neglected to take a picture of it nor do I remember the name. But I assure that I will be going back this weekend when the family size box is on sale, buy one get one free, and I will report back with the name.

They were so good I had them again yesterday. This time with mashed cauliflower.

This was seriously one of the most satisfying meals I’ve had in a while. So simply perfect. The cauliflower was the best I’ve ever fixed. The only thing I did differently was use Himalayan Salt as opposed to regular salt. I’ve been hearing for some time now about the healthy benefits of Himalayan salt and there is a great article from the Livestrong website here that you can check out.  From a taste stand point it’s just more flavorful and you can use less but get extra taste.

This morning I’ve started off with the usual. I can really tell the difference in adding the Amazing Grass .

Yum! Yum!

See you later today!

One response to “Cobbler, Nuggets and Beans Oh My!

  1. I’m making the cobbler today. Just not sure about Splenda now. I think it is just as bad as aspartame. Research some natural sweeteners and tell me what you think. I’m doing the same.
    A

Leave a Reply

