What to do? What to do?

WARNING! I’m in a really grumpy mood. It’s bad when it’s barely 7am on a Sunday morning and you’re already in a bad mood. The cause? Two words: wedding date. No, not the mediocre movie with Grace Adler. My actual wedding date. We can’t figure it out and it’s driving me crazy. As a girl who has waited patiently, for many, many years to be married I feel like I have earned the right to have a couple of irrational desires. I really only have one. I want the wedding to be on New Years Eve. There is no reason it’s just what I want. I couldn’t tell you why my heart is set on this date it just is. I keep telling myself that the date is not important. My brain knows this and my heart knows this but I still want a New Year’s Eve wedding!!!!! Please go back and reread that sentence in the whiny-3-year old voice I am using in my head.  So what’s the problem? Glad you asked. We can’t find the right place to have it. I REALLY want to have it here or here but both are booked and no where else is giving me the vibe. Also, it’s been said that a lot of people won’t want to travel that weekend. I couldn’t disagree more.  I think everyone wants something fun to do on New Year’s Eve and what could be more fun than a wedding??? Please give me your thoughts. Have you been to a NYE wedding? Would you travel for one? Thoughts???

Since I’m in a way I thought I would write about my biggest comfort food. Nothing makes me feel any better than this. Unfortunately it’s now a 3 hour plane ride followed by a 2 hour car ride away 😦 When people ask that proverbial question, what would your last meal be? My answer is ALWAYS the same. My mom’s spaghetti! So when I was visiting last month I broke out the camera while she made it.

The ingredients you will need are:

  • Ground Beef (although I think ground buffalo is GREAT in it as well)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • green and or sweet red pepper chopped
  • sliced mushrooms
  • Ragu Traditional Style (yes Ragu, don’t ask just use it!)
  • Basil
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Garlic
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Chili Powder
  • Bay Leaves
  • Parsley
  • Oregano
  • Parmesan Cheese

Optional Ingredient

  • So stinking cute little boy to stir:

The first step is saute together the beef, onion and green pepper like so:

While that is cooking, add the Ragu, mushrooms and dried spices to the crock pot:

As far as measurements go on the spices it really seems to be a more of an art form than an exact science. It truly is a little of this a little of that until you get it exactly the way you want it. The secret ingredient is said to be the chili powder so definitely do not leave that out!

Drain and rinse the ground beef mixture and add to the crock pot.

Cook on low for 8 hour and then you will have this:

Per my usual I was in too much of a hurry to eat it to actually stop and take a picture of my plate. Trust me, it was as perfect as always!

Hope you have a great Sunday. The first person to call The Union League of Philadelphia and cancel whatever event is currently being held there on December 31st wins an awesome prize!!!!!!!!

4 responses to “What to do? What to do?

  1. I must admit, I’ve only been to one New Year’s Eve wedding (Meghan and Edward Bowis) but it was a blast! There’s nothing like getting dressed up and celebrating the New Year surrounded by family and friends at a wedding! Good luck with the venue search!
    P.S. Travel wouldn’t be that bad but speaking from someone that has kids, parents may have a hard time finding a baby sitter to leave their kids on the holiday. Just a thought.

    • Thanks Stephanie! I think it’s such a fun festive night for a wedding. But alas, it wasn’t meant to be. At the end of the day though, like you said, it’s being surrounded by family & friends that is the important part!!

  2. Sweetheart, Jeffrey and I are headed to Buffalo, NY this New Year’s Eve for a wedding. If I can go to Buffalo on New Year’s Eve I’m sure PA would be a breeze 🙂 You deserve to have the date you want but what is more important the date or the venue??? That might be the real question. Love ya and good luck!!

    • Thanks Crystal Ann! That’s the exact question he asked me 🙂 You are the second person that I’ve heard from, who I would want to be there, that is going to be out of town. Which makes me think lots of people may already have NYE plans and in turn makes giving up the date all the more easier!

Leave a Reply

