Right Church Wrong Pew

I thought that I had the perfect plan for lunch yesterday. Actually it was, it’s just funny how one ingredient can throw off the whole dish! It had been ages since I had fixed Salsa Chicken and being that I have a Price Club Costco sized vat of salsa in my fridge:

it seemed like the obvious choice.

This recipe could not be any easier.  Preheat the oven to 400. Cover a chicken breast with any salsa that you like. The more you like the salsa the more you will like this dish:

Wrap it up in Reynolds Wrap:

Bake for 45 minutes. Add shredded cheese and continue to bake for an additional 15 minutes. The final product:

The greatest part of this recipe is that you can use a FROZEN chicken breast and get the exact same result. No thawing necessary. It is a fail proof recipe. It cannot be messed up! You could also make it in the crock pot. Serve with avocado and or sour cream and viola!

Now, the caveat to all of this is, you must use a salsa that you like. I for one am not a huge mango person. I like it on its own with cottage cheese and that’s it. Knowing this I have no idea what possessed me to make this dish using a mango peach salsa. It was incredibly sweet and just down right not good! I ended up scraping off all of the salsa and just eating the chicken and avocado which was good but defeated the purpose. So, right recipe wrong ingredient or as my dad would say, right church wrong pew!

One response to “Right Church Wrong Pew

  1. Pingback: You Can Handle It « Party of Six

Leave a Reply

