Really REALLY Back!

Over the weekend I said I was back. Clearly I wasn’t. THIS time I promise, I’m back to my usual postings. To back track a little bit this was dinner last night.

It was a salad with mixed lettuce, cucumber, tomato, carrot, green onion and walnuts. Along with it I had a Morning Star Tomato Basil Pizza Burger with a slice of muenster cheese and marinara. Being that there is a wedding dress in my future I decided to forgo the bun 🙂 And let me just say that I am still wrapping my mind around that little fact!

After dinner my sweet tooth kicked in and I had a cup of peppermint tea and a Kashi dark chocolate chunk cookie.

I’ll be honest, those cookies are just ok. Which is actually a good thing because they satisfy that craving but you can easily stop at one.

This morning I woke up to a very full work inbox. So I ended up pretty much working through the morning right up until it was time to go meet my cousin and her ADORABLE daughters for lunch. While I was getting ready I realized I was famished so I made a girl’s best friend.

I bought fresh strawberries yesterday and sliced them and then divided them up into 1/2 cup portions and froze them. They were perfect in this! I’m trying to keep my fruit down to 2 portions per Green Monster. This was made with spinach, strawberries, 1 Tablespoon of peanut butter, 1/2 C OJ and 1/2 C Dairy Ease Milk. It was goooood!

We met at Bertucci’s for lunch to celebrate my cousins birthday and my exciting news. Side note, I’m going to try really hard not to mention in every paragraph that I’m engaged but you might just have to humor me a little bit longer 🙂 I had a salad that was actually really good for a chain restaurant. It had lots of fresh vegetables (cucumber, grape tomatoes, carrot, red onion, black olive and green pepper – which I wasn’t feeing so I picked that off) on it as well as steak and balsamic.

I would definitely go back and order this salad again!

Tonight’s dinner was delish and I have a feeling that you will be seeing it quite a bit up until the big day (whenever that may be!). I had a boneless skinless chicken breast in the fridge and decided to cook it by tweaking the method from my Chicken and Carmalized Cauliflower recipe. All I did was cut up the chicken, toss it in 1 Teaspoon olive oil, Paula Deen House Seasoning (S,P & Garlic Salt) and then a little bit of fresh lemon zest and lime zest. I baked it on 450 for 10 minutes and added fresh chopped cilantro when it came out of the oven. It was fantastic! The lime zest is what put it over the top. It almost gave it a sweetness. I will be adding lime zest from now on to pretty much everything! Along with it I steamed broccoli and had my regular salad. If you are looking for an easy week night meal it doesn’t get much quicker and HEALTHIER than this!

I have a big weekend ahead of me. I’m heading home tomorrow for my BFF’s wedding! Nothing beats a good home town wedding. I can’t wait!! Be on the look out for updates from the road… Night!

4 responses to “Really REALLY Back!

  1. we forgive you! I know it is hard to type with that big beauty on your left hand…..Love ya and Soooooo happy!!

  2. I’m liking your blog Ginny. Very motivational. I was doing great with my diet after my baby turned 4 months and then I kinda fell off the wagon in May after my cousin’s wedding. It’s been downhill since then. I can’t seem to motivate myself to get back into the healthy eating. I’m stressed out about my work (or lack of work) and juggling three kids, hubby, and home… But I think I will use some of your recipes when I get motivated to start my diet and exercise program again. Do you think my kids will like any of these recipes you have posted?

    • Fariba I’m so sorry I’m just now seeing this comment!!! Thank you so much for reading my blog 🙂 Trust me, I know exactly how you feel and I’ve never had 3 kids. It’s so hard to get back on the wagon!! I would think the girls would definitely like the banana ice cream! I made the carmalized cauliflower and chicken for my nephews and they almost fell out and died they thought it was so gross. So I would say to definitely skip that one, ha!ha! The sister in law of one of my good friends has a small kids and a blog so all of her recipes are kid tested. If you want to check it out it’s: http://littlemrsbossyfoodbog.blogspot.com/ Good luck and keep me posted! Miss you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

