The Dinner I’ve Been Waiting For My Whole Life!!!

I’m finally back! It’s been a whirlwind of a week to say the least!! Last Saturday the CBB’s father, aunt and uncle arrived from England. We were so excited for them to get here. This trip has been planned since Christmas and we’ve been counting the days until their arrival. Saturday evening we picked them up and headed upon request to PF Changs for some Chicken Lettuce Wraps and Mongolian Beef.

Sunday morning we woke up early and hit the streets of Philadelphia. First stop, who else?

From Rocky we went to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. I can’t say enough if you are ever in Philly the Independence Hall tour is a must! Each time I go I learn something new like the Constitution was signed on the CBB’s birthday 🙂 From there we headed over To Sonny’s Famous Steak’s so that they could experience a true Philadelphia Cheesesteak then for a HOT carriage ride around the city.

On the tour the driver pointed out a church that was in the film National Treasure. I thought this was very sentimental because the CBB and I  watched this movie the weekend that we met. After the ride we headed to Phileo Frozen Yogurt for some much needed FroYo that was the hit of the afternoon!

That night we headed down town to Butcher & Singer for a celebratory 40th Wedding Anniversary dinner for Auntie Linda and Uncle Billy! Oh what a celebration it turned out to be!!

Dinner was out of this world! I had the petite filet with green beans and the best mashed potatoes I have ever eaten! The filet was melt in your mouth but oh my goodness the potatoes!!

After dinner we were waiting for dessert (Baked Alaska!) when the CBB slyly asked his aunt if she had had enjoyed her day and all of the surprises. She said she had and then he asked her if she was ready for just one more. The words were no more out of his mouth when the waitress appeared with a sliver platter with a silver domed lid on top. I was so excited to finally try my first Baked Alaska but when she whisked the top off of the platter there was something much more spectacular than any dessert!

This picture is a reenactment. When it happened I gasped so loudly the whole restaurant came to a stop and then applauded. The CBB then got down on his knee and asked me marry him.  It was without a doubt the happiest moment of my life!!!! OF course I said yes, instantly making him the CBF – Cute British Fiance!

Great picture of the Baked Alaska but couldn’t tell you what it tasted like 🙂

The evening was everything I’ve ever dreamed of. I’m still pinching myself and looking at my left hand in wonder. Having family with us at the time was just the icing on the cake!

Since then to say I’ve been on the go has been an understatement. Monday we headed to New York and saw more of that city in one day than most people see a week!

Empire State Building:

No matter how many times I see her in person she still gives me goose bumps!

No trip to another city is complete without a visit to my main man!

Then yesterday I came down to Louisiana to see my family so we could all marvel at the fact that I am the luckiest girl in the world (and my ring) together 🙂

Breakfast this morning was a whole wheat bagel thin with peanut butter.

For lunch I had some of the last shrimp to come out of the Gulf before the oil spill. Tasting them just brings home yet again how tragic that event was. They were perfect!!


3 responses to “The Dinner I’ve Been Waiting For My Whole Life!!!

  1. Thanks for posting the last week of your life in a few paragraphs! I am sure it has been a whirlwind and you have just been super busy. I was so excited to see the pictures again, I could see them over and over! I am so happy for you two!

  2. I’m so happy for you both. What a wonderful engagement story! CBB(F) really did it right! Best Wishes.

Leave a Reply

