An Early Start

It’s amazing what a lack of television can do for one’s efficiency! At 8pm last night I had already watched a movie, The Boys are Back with Clive Owens. Save the 90 minutes of your life and do not rent it! I decided to just go to bed and read which I did for about an hour before I crashed. After resting so well I was up at 3:44 this morning which led to all sorts of domestic bliss:

  • Made our bed
  • Unloaded the dishwasher
  • Ironed sheets for the guest bed
  • Made the guest bed
  • Dusted entire bookshelf that runs almost the entire length of the condo
  • Put together a lamp
  • Reorganized guest room closet
  • Cleaned out hall closet

Now if I can get in a 4 mile walk before 9am I will be a happy girl!

Dinner last night was Honey Mustard Pork Tenderloin and Mashed Cauliflower.

I could eat that meal every day of my life! I do love pork tenderloin!! I bought this one already marinated so I can’t take credit for how delicious it was.

I was in the mood to bake yesterday. Since I’m on my own until Thursday evening I didn’t want any baked goods lying around as temptation. So I tried my hand at homemade granola. I based my recipe off of Sabrina’s Basic Granola which can be found here. (As a side note, I met Sabrina several weeks ago at a meet up that she and Jenna had. She was super nice and it was cool to meet her after reading her blog!)  I tweaked it based on what I had on hand. It turned out really tasty but it seems more like cereal to me than granola.

Ginny’s Granola

  • 3 Cups Quick Cooking Oats (I used Trader Joe’s Multi Grain – Rye/Barley/Oats/Wheat)
  • 1/2 Cup Walnuts
  • 1/4 Cup Almonds
  • 1/3 Cup Raisins
  • 2 T Salted Peanuts
  • 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/4 Water
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla
  • Dash of Salt
  • Healthy dose of Cinnamon

Heat oven to 300. Mix Dry ingredients except cinnamon in a bowl. Heat honey, water and vanilla together on stove top until thoroughly mixed. Add honey mixture to dry ingredients and mix. Spread onto a cookie sheet. Sprinkle cinnamon on top. Bake for 30 minutes. Take pan out of oven and mix around every 10 minutes adding a sprinkle of cinnamon to it each time.

I think next time I would add more vanilla, walnuts and raisins and leave the peanuts out.

I had it this morning as a bowl of cereal with banana and strawberry and it was awesome!

3 responses to “An Early Start

  1. If you add more honey it will clump together better- more like granola than cereal. I think I used so little honey in this because PB likes light foods and doesn’t like anything too sweet 🙂

    Thanks for the shout out!

    • I will try it that way next time. But I have to say the flavor is spot on and I’m loving it as cereal. Thanks for the idea! Loving your Jordan posts by the way. What an awesome trip!

  2. There you go ironing sheets again. I was that efficent and got things like that done about 3 kids ago. Love you! Time for the Green Man…

Leave a Reply

