Mother of All Salads

Today started with my good friend the GM.

I made it with spinach, 1 C frozen blueberries, 1/2 C OJ, 1/2 C water and a spoonful of peanut butter. He just never lets me down! I drank about half and then went for my workout.

Today I walked for 2 miles and then came back and went to the gym. In order to increase my exercise I’m focusing on lifting heavier weights and adding reps over adding anymore cardio. I also, like everyday, did my leg exercises for my knee.

When I was done I came back and finished the second half of my Green Monster. It held me over for all of about 30 minutes before I was ravenous and proceeded to make the mother of all salads. Oh my gosh was it amazing! I started by roasting butternut squash which was a great idea! I randomly picked some up at Trader Joes this week for the first of what will be many times to come! While that was roasting I pulled everything else together. I knew I wanted some sort of black bean salsa to go on it as well. I started by chopping tomatoes:

Rinsed and drained a can of black beans:

Chopped cilantro, red onion and avocado:

Then combined it all together with some corn:

I’m telling you, something magical happens when you combine those 6 simple ingredients!

Then I chopped up the usual salad accoutrements and it all came together like this:

Seriously it was perfection on a plate. It barely even needed dressing. So good! I ate until my hearts content and then at this point had to throw in the towel:

Leave a Reply

