Tuesday

Two days until the start of a long weekend, am I the only one counting down???

Depending on where you live you are probably sick of hearing me say this but today was gorgeous here! Upper 80’s and no humidity! Perfect. I started the day at about 6:30 with my Green Monster made from FRESH spinach, frozen blueberries, banana, oj and dairy ease milk.

Around 10 or so I had a slice of Trader Joe’s french toast with peanut butter and banana. I didn’t have the patience for the oven to heat up so I experimented and just put it in the toaster. Worked like a gem!

I’m working on eating all of the veggies in the fridge before we go out of town again for the weekend. So lunch was a salad made with lettuce, carrots, english cucumber, tomatoes, red onion, goat cheese and a couple olives.

I went to both Whole Foods and the Shi Shi Pooh Pooh Farmer’s Market to pick up the ingredients for dinner and then we ultimately decided to go out. Oh well, that just means tomorrow nights menu will be easy! We ended up going to Fleming’s Steak House. Whenever we go there we order one salad, one entree and sides and then just splitting everything.

My half of the wedge salad. So good! This place always has the best Β red onions, I’m going to have to get ask where they get them. The CBB doesn’t eat tomatoes which works out well for me πŸ™‚

For dinner we shared the filet, a crab louis lettuce wrap and mashed potatoes. The steak was fabulous, the crab was fine and since the potatoes weren’t my dad’s I couldn’t get excited about them. That man wrote the book on mashed potatoes and all others pale in comparison to his in my opinion! But then again I am a Daddy’s Girl…

Why is it that steak houses insist on finishing steaks with butter? It makes my stomach hurt just to think about. So much extra fat and calories that no one needs! If I’m going to tack on a few hundred extra calories onto a meal you better believe it’s going to be in the form of wine or chocolate! Not to mention it takes away from the flavor of the steak. I always try to remember to order it without. The last couple of times we ate at Fleming’s I forgot to order it that way but tonight I remembered and it was so much better!

Off to read before bed, good night!

4 responses to “Tuesday

  1. Ginny, You HAVE to turn these into a book. I am serious. Can you send me the overall link to the blog again? My friend Mary Ann wants to read too. Aunt Anne mentioned how much she enjoys them too. You know you have inspired Dad to write his Navy stories down for the boys, don’t you? Of course, he uses me for Spellcheck.

  2. I LOVE Flemings…haven’t been there in awhile but always love a good steak place! Still loving your blog and continue to pass it along to friends. It is so funny to chat with friends about what you did and ate the day before:) You are famous:)

    • Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I’m trying to come up with more interesting things instead of eating the same thing over and over again to give you something to talk about πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

