Perfect Summer Treat

First rule of The Green Monster. Fresh spinach only! I opened up my Costco sized bag of spinach this morning to find that what was left was mainly old. By old I mean it had taken that slimy green turn that spinach takes when it’s too old. I thought to myself, oh what does that matter, it’s going in a shake and it’s not like you can taste the spinach anyway. Big mistake. Huge!

Two sips and the rest went down the drain.

I moved onto a toasted sandwich thin with a wedge of the laughing cow swiss cheese.

This will be a definite addition to the breakfast rotation.

Today was one of those days when I had 100 errands to run. When I got back I was famished and ate the quickest thing I could find which was left over chinese chicken salad from the take out we had last night.

Normally I’m not a fan of leftover salad but this one actually still had crunch to it. For the ridiculous price of $19 that it cost I felt much better knowing that I got two meals out of it.

Remember last week when I made that dinner that I was so in love with from chicken and cauliflower? That night I also said that I had a great dessert recipe but was to full to make it then. This afternoon at about 3pm as both the thermometer and the humidity continued to creep up it hit me that I needed to make it.

I found this recipe several weeks reading my usual blogs. I’ve gone back and scoured over them and for the life of me can’t find where I found it. So I can’t give credit to whomever came up with this, just know that it wasn’t me but man I wish I had! What could be better than homemade banana ice cream that you can put together in about 2 minutes?

All that you do is take a frozen banana and put it in the food processor (I would think the blender would work well too) with a big spoonful of peanut butter, 1/8 cup of milk (or a little less) and 1 t vanilla. Viola! I added chocolate chips this time because…well do I need a reason?

Banana really is an amazing food. There is no way anyone would ever believe that this wasn’t ice cream. It is so creamy and wonderful!!! Amazing! The perfect summer time treat. I now keep one chopped banana in my freezer at all times. You never know when you might need this and I’d hate to think I had to wait!

I ate dinner tonight but left home without a phone or a camera so there is no proof. Really, you didn’t miss much. Just go back and reread about my Saturday night dinner and we’ll all pretend I had that again 🙂

2 responses to “Perfect Summer Treat

  1. Stephanie Crabbe

    Hey Ginny- After reading your blog daily, you inspired me to make my own Green Monster today!!! I must say, it was pretty tasty! Now, I’m definitely going to have to try the frozen banana recipe.

    • Yea Stephanie! I’m so glad you liked it!!!! Let me know what you think about the banana ice cream too. Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

