I Heart Jicama!

I don’t mean to honk my own horn, but TOOT! TOOT! Dinner tonight was ridiculously good!! You know every now and then when you just out do yourself with something. Tonight was one of those nights for me and the recipe was super simple. I love it when that happens!!

Before I get into what you will definitely be eating if you ever come to visit I’ll start from the beginning.

Breakfast was a repeat of yesterday. Shocking, right?

I had another Cantaloupe Cucumber Green Monster. I need to think my sister for the cantaloupe idea. That along with the cucumber make it so light and refreshing. I love it! I’m not sure why I’ve been on an egg kick lately but I feel like my beloved peanut butter will be reappearing in the morning.

Lunch was a sandwich thin with ham and Muenster cheese heated in the oven. So much better than the cold version I had yesterday. The cheese was all gooey and the edge of the ham had gotten crispy. Delish!! I had it with a salad and the most perfect peeled peach I think I’ve ever tasted. If you haven’t had a peach yet this season you need to buy some soon. They are perfect right now!! Am I the only one that can’t do peach fuzz? Ugh! Even the thought of it sends chills down my spine. If it touches my teeth I can’t stand it. Literally I just got the chills just thinking about it.

I realized today that I haven’t been very good about mentioning my exercise lately. I do it everyday, Monday thru Friday anyway, on the weekends sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn’t. So to back track Monday I walked 3 miles in the morning then went to physical therapy in the afternoon (which I totally count as additional exercise!) and then the CBB and I walked another mile after dinner. Yesterday I did the elliptical for about 10 minutes and then did an upper body workout and today I walked 3 miles in the morning and had physical therapy this afternoon. It was the first time I’ve ever been hooked up to stim machine. Kind of weird. You know that feeling of pins and needles when your arm has fallen asleep? It’s like that but more intense. So my exercises were done with that hooked up to my knee and thigh. It was crazy how much better my knee stayed in place while it was on!

By the time I got out of there at 3 I was already getting hungry so I ate with the field hands tonight. Whenever the CBB is out of town I tend to do that. What a shame he is away tonight because man oh man did he miss a good one!! I found this recipe in Better Homes and Gardens March 2010 and I’ll post it under the food tab as well. I’ll post the recipe as it was written but will explain below how I tweaked it a little bit.

Chicken and Carmelized Cauliflower with Green Olives. Yum, Yum and Yum! I started with this massive head of cauliflower that I got at the Reading Terminal Market over the weekend.

It was so big that I only used about half. I chopped that up and tossed it with 2 teaspoons of olive oil and salt and pepper. Then I spread that in a single layer on a cookie sheet and roasted at 450 for 25 minutes. While that was roasting I cut up 2 boneless skinless chicken breast (which were from a pack of three from Whole Foods for $7.60, still not a bad price in my opinion – the recipe called for all 3 but since it’s just me I downsized) into chunks and tossed that with 1 teaspoon of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of grated lemon zest and salt and pepper. After the cauliflower had roasted for the 25 minutes I moved it all to one side of the pan and added the chicken pieces to the other side of the pan and let it all continue to cook at 450 for 10 minutes. While that was cooking in the food processor using the knife blade I ground 1/4 cup slivered almonds until they were fine. Then I added 1/3 cup of pitted green olives (I had leftovers from the olive bar at Whole Foods from last weeks appetizers) and 1/4 cup of basil (recipe called for fresh parsley). I was excited to use my basil from my little pot I picked up at Trader Joes:

Cute, right? As that was mixing I added 2 tablespoons of olive oil until it formed a moist paste. When the chicken and cauliflower was done roasting I added the olive mixture to it in the hot pan and just tossed it all together.

I wish the picture did it justice. If there is only one recipe you try this needs to be it! I’ve never cooked chicken at a temp that high before. It was so moist and so tender! Did I mention it was good?

Then it gets even better because I made a salad to go with it and surprised myself yet again. This time with salad dressing. I’ll be honest, normally I am an out of the bottle kind of girl. I know it’s healthier to make my own and every now and then I will. But it’s just so darn easy to grab the bottle. Tonight I’m glad I didn’t. I can’t even really give you the recipe because I didn’t measure anything. I just used olive oil (1/4 cup maybe), balsamic (couple of tablespoons???), a big glob of dijon mustard, another big glob of honey and a few grinds of pepper. I whisked it all together and viola! I’m sure I got on my sister’s nerves because I was talking to her while I was eating and kept interrupting her to exclaim, “this is soooo good!”

In my salad I used lettuce, tomato, red onion and jicama. May I say that for the record I heart jicama!! I always have. The first time I ever had it was on a salad at California Pizza Kitchen and I’ve loved it ever since. I’m always excited to see it on a menu but I never actually think to buy one. So I picked one up at the Reading Terminal Market.

He doesn’t look like much there, does he?

Ahhh, but the cool crunchy wonder that awaits inside is perfect for a salad!

It was the perfect summer meal. Now I have a fabulous dessert to go with it but it might just be too much excitement for one night! If I happen to break it out later I will tell you about it, if not it will have to wait for tomorrow.

2 responses to “I Heart Jicama!

  1. So…describe the affect and taste the olives lent to the chicken dish. It really sounds good and you know how I love olives.
    P.S. I know I said I was going to read every day but this is the first time I’ve been on the computer since the first time I read. You need to approach Trader Joe’s about doing some writing for them. You are giving them alot of free advertising and the pictures and your style are pretty appealing.

  2. Pingback: Really REALLY Back! « Peanut Butter And Bananas

Leave a Reply

