Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!

Today I had physical therapy at noon so on my way out of the door I grabbed this to hold me over.

Half a slice of deli cheese rolled up in a slice of deli ham. It did the trick!

When I got back I dove into an oldie but goodie that I haven’t had in a couple of weeks.

My salad consisted of baby lettuce, cucumber, sweet grape tomatoes, green onion, goat cheese and walnuts. Alongside of that I had Trader Joe’s Chicken Tikka Masala. Yum! Yum! Yum!

Dinner was what I will call an Aunt Anne Special. That means that it had 5 ingredients or less, the way my Aunt Anne likes it šŸ™‚ Since watching Food Inc we’re making a concerted effort to eat organic meats whenever possible. I went to Whole Foods to pick up a chicken for dinner tonight and was fully expecting (Read: dreading) to pay an arm and a leg. I was pleasantly surprised to find that a 3.5 LB chicken was only $9.74. I’m not sure what price I had in mind but I was just thinking, this is going to be so much more expensive than the regular super market! The number one argument I hear about eating organically is the price. This chicken made me stop and think, I wonder how much of that is just in our heads? When you get down to it is it really THAT much more expensive or have we just conditioned ourselves to think that? I will easily get 4 meals out of this one chicken, that’s $2.44/meal. I haven’t had a fast food chicken dinner in a long time but I think it’s a safe bet that it’s considerably more expensive. Just food for thought!

So what did I make with my 5 ingredient or less-super economical-organic-free range-non antibiotic chicken?

Roasted chicken with carrots and baby new potatoes from the Reading Terminal Market of course! So easy, so healthy and so delicious! The recipe, if you can even call it that, is in the Food section.

See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

