In the kitchen

The orthopedic went well. Physical therapy for a month then based on what improvement that brings I’ll possibly meet with a doctor who specializes in knee stabilization. The x-ray was actually pretty humorous. I won’t gross you out by posting a picture but let’s just say you don’t need a medical degree to see that my knee cap is hanging out in space on it’s own. Lovely.

Thank goodness I had my girl scout cap on today and had lunch prepared before I left. I was ravenous by the time I returned. I inhaled this salad and peach:

The salad had everything but the kitchen sink in it, red leaf lettuce, green leaf lettuce, cucumbers, tomatoes, avocado, baked sweet potato, a black bean burger and a hard boiled egg.  I was still hungry when I finished so I noshed on a couple of pieces of this watermelon.

Dinner could quite possibly take the prize as my favorite dish. Or maybe I was just really hongry. Which we all know is different than just plain old hungry. Either way you should definitely try this recipe for Cauliflower Macaroni and Cheese. I love Real Simple magazine and it’s recipes. This was a great one!  I halved it and of course, tweaked it a bit  (you can find my version under the Food section.) This is a perfect recipe to sneak in some added veggies on an unassuming dinner audience. I loved the fact that the cauliflower still had a little crunch to it and I knew I was eating cauliflower. If you are preparing this for kids or just trying to pull one over on a picky eater make sure to finely chop the cauliflower and I would let it boil a few minutes longer than what the recipe calls for.

I served it with light salad of tomato and avocado tossed in balsamic. Then topped it off with these little gems:

Mini Mint ice cream sandwiches from Trader Joe’s. Mmmm Mmmm Good!

Leave a Reply

