Sweet Surprise

Dinner was an old stand by that by now you surely recognize. The CBB is far away on the other side of the world right now. Whenever that happens I tend to go pretty basic with the dinner menu. Besides, it’s been over a week since this friend came to visit.

I decided to make my own salad dressing tonight and I have to say it was PDG! I was in the pantry grabbing the Olive Oil and Balsamic Vinegar when I made eye contact with Mr. Honey Bear and an idea was born!

Honey Balsamic Dressing

  • 1/4 C Balsamic Vinegar
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • One good squeeze of the honey bear
  • S & P to taste

It was the perfect accoutrement to my salad of lettuce, cuke, tomato, mushroom, avocado and green onion. Tart with a slight after taste of sweet.

I’ve always been a firm believer that if it’s not chocolate than it’s not dessert. Tonight I proved myself wrong. At the farmers market over the weekend I got the sweetest pint of blackberries for $1! I’m not sure what excited me more, the price or the taste. The last time I had blackberries this sweet  (or cheap!) I was picking them off of the wild bushes as a child.

I decided since I had so much luck winging the salad dressing recipe I’d try the same with a cobbler.

I think next time I’d go a little heavier on the topping. And add some nuts. Definitely nuts.

Individual Blackberry Cobbler

  • Place blackberries in ramekin
  • Sprinkle with 1 tsp sugar
  • Add 1/4 tsp vanilla and toss
  • In separate bowl combine 1 T whole wheat flour & 2 T oats
  • Cut 1 tsp butter into flour and oats and then add to berries
  • Bake at 350 for 30 minutes

Today’s workout was 20 minutes on the elliptical and an arms workout. My new favorite move is to hold a weight in my hand at chest level and throw a punch across to the opposite side. I channel my inner Hillary Swank and go to town. It really gets the aggression out!

Leave a Reply

