Breaking Bread

The best part about being in the Philadelphia area is that I am close to one of my favorite people in the world and for the first time in my life I am getting to see her on a regular basis. My cousin Jennifer is one of those sweet, kind, gentle people who just do not come along in life often enough. She is so much fun to be around and simply a person that makes my life better by being a part of it! Although, today was the first time I discovered that she actually does have a flaw. That flaw is that she wouldn’t let me take her picture for this blog. But next time I’m going to get one!! 🙂

We meet for lunch every couple of weeks to fit in some eating around filling each other in on life in general and discussing serious news of the day like what’s going on with Jon & Kate plus 8. We may or may not have done a drive by of their home on a previous occasion. Today we met in the town of Wayne and had what I would say was our best lunch yet. We both had salads. Mine was perfection on a plate! Baby Spinach, Roasted Butternut Squash, Goat Cheese, Walnuts and Shrimp tossed in a balsamic reduction.

I could eat this salad every day for the rest of my life.

She had the Noce Salad which was Mixed Greens with Sun-Dried Tomatoes, Toasted Walnuts, Gorgonzola Cheese and Balsamic Reduction.

Definitely a place I’m looking forward to returning!

After lunch we walked a few blocks down to Great Harvest. Wow! This was my first trip. How do you not love any place that before you can even walk through the door they are offering you a slice of fresh baked bread? Jennifer had the Apple Crunch Bread and I had the Dakota. They were both gone way too quickly to snap a picture! Jennifer’s tasted like a warm apple crumble and I don’t know what was in mine but it was delicious! Lots of crunchy seeds and nuts maybe. Like I said, it was gone way too quickly! All of the breads are baked with freshly ground whole wheat. So good that we each had to buy a loaf 🙂 Hmmmm…I wonder what I should put my peanut butter on in the morning?

One response to “Breaking Bread

  1. we country bumpkins are way jealous of your “finds” in the city…..BTW thanks for finding the bagel thins in Heathsville for me!! You truly are my Richard Simmons and I love ya!!

Leave a Reply

