Feeling Kinda Crabby

Hands down my favorite food is Chesapeake Bay Blue Crab. Steamed crabs, crab cakes, deviled crab, crab imperial, jumbo lump on a Cool Ranch Dorito (trust me on this one, it works!) you name it I like it! It’s in my genes.

Tonight’s dinner started off with my mom’s crab salad. If you are looking for something light and delicious this is it!

It’s one of those recipes that you just sort of tweak to your own liking. Start with one pound of fresh Jumbo Lump Crab Meat in a bowl and gently feel through with your fingers to remove any shell. In a separate bowl combine about 1/8 to 1/4 Cup mayo, 3 T finely chopped green pepper, 1 stalk finely chopped celery, 3 hard boiled egg chopped, 1 t Old Bay and S&P to taste. GENTLY combine mayo mixture with the crab meat and serve with saltine crackers.

The perfect bite. MMMMMMMMMM.

From there we moved onto Crab Imperial. This recipe is out of the Mrs. Kitching’s Smith Island Cookbook. I highly recommend this book! This recipe alone is worth the $11. (Email me if you’d like the recipe) If you do order and you ever make the Smith Island Cake please, please, please send me a piece! It is my favorite dessert but I’m just not quite brave enough to try and make it on my own.

I’m already looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!

2 responses to “Feeling Kinda Crabby

  1. Yummmmmy You are making me so Jonesing for some crabmeat girl! enjoying your blog and glad to know I am not the only one that is a TJoes junkie!!! If there is a Whole Foods up that way they are great too, as well as Fresh Market. Both have peanut butter machines and reading about your experience with it has made me want to give it a try. Take care…. πŸ™‚ Renee

    • Renee you have got to try the peanut butter machine! You will love it! We do have Whole Foods and I do love it as well. I had a Fresh Market in Richmond but haven’t seen them since. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

