A New Day!

Home again and back to the 80%. Thank goodness! No matter how great I think the food is when I’m splurging it ALWAYS catches up with me. I’m not sure if it’s age, hormones or the loss of my gall bladder last year but eating out more than one or two meals just does me in. Last night as I was tossing and turning and unable to sleep due to the chinese we had for dinner I came up with a list of NOT WORTH IT foods for me. As much as it pains me to say it, Beef Lo Mein tops the list! UGH! Do you have a list like that?

For a weekend recap I have very few pictures. Sorry! It was a case of forgetting my camera, a lot! I thought I had solved the problem  at the clambake by using someone else’s but for whatever reason the pictures would not load on my computer.Take my word though that it was fabulous! Clams, Shrimp, the best chicken I’ve ever put in my mouth, potatoes, carrots and onion. All thrown in a steamer pot together and lots of cajun spices. Delish! Delish! Delish! Sunday I think I was just too hot to eat. We went to brunch with all of the same people from Saturday night. I made the mistake of eating spinach dip which filled me up and then just nibbled at brunch itself. Such a waste! I wish I had stayed away from the dip then been able to eat brunch. Oh well!

On to today! Since I had been thinking about a toasted bagel thin with my new peanut butter since Friday I decided to start the day with that.

I spread some blackberry preserves on top and it was a little too sweet. I think tomorrow I’ll stick to my usual peanut butter and banana.

I needed to run out at lunch time. I really didn’t want to eat out and I really didn’t want anything with meat in it. We watched the Academy Award Nominee Documentary Food Inc. last night. WOW! Let’s just say that afterwards I spent over an hour researching Organic farms in Pennsylvania where we can now buy our meat. The ironic thing is that this film has gotten all sorts of media AND it’s one of my clients at work. Which trust me, my clients don’t usually get a lot of press! But this one has so I don’t know why it took me so long to sit down and watch it. It has definitely had an effect on how I will eat going forward and I highly recommend you watch it. It’s also On Demand right now through Comcast and Verizon Fios. So check it out!!

So for lunch I kept it simple with a Bagel thin and Hummus.

Washed down with the nectar of the gods!

You just can’t beat a Northern Neck Ginger Ale!!

I was asked over the weekend if I would post my weekly grocery list. I’m going to improvise since the grocery store is more of a daily occurrence for me. Maybe if I sat down and made that list I would only have to go weekly, ha!ha! Actually, I’ve always loved the grocery store. It’s just a bright happy place in my opinion 🙂

This is what I bought today from Trader Joe’s. All for $21.37! Hope this helps Dawn.

  • 2 Bags of Baby Spinach
  • 2 cans Organic Black Beans
  • 3 Bananas
  • Baby Roma Tomatoes
  • Lemon
  • Sweet Corn
  • 2 Cucumbers
  • Red Pepper
  • Green Pepper
  • Sweet Snap Peas

Hope you’re having a great afternoon!

One response to “A New Day!

  1. Ginny, Know I’m late in getting to these but everyone are delightful. Funny, well written and motivating. This may be your new career. Could a newsletter be next. Keep up the good work. I’ll read very day I can get to the computer.
    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

