Country Roads Take Me Home

My favorite time of the day is waking up and having a cup of coffee while the world is still quiet and everything is just beginning to come to life. This morning I am getting to do that in my favorite place on earth.

It is so beautiful and peaceful. Birds chirping, fish jumping and baby geese waddling through the yard and a hummingbird occasionally dive bombing my head!

Bliss.

Along with only eating when I’m hungry one of the other guidelines I try to live by is the 80/20 Rule. Eating as healthy as possible 80% of the time and being more relaxed about it the other 20% of the time. This weekend we are in Reedville, the small town where I was lucky enough to be born and raised. While I’m here I will be concentrating really hard on that 20% 🙂

It’s about a 4.5 hour drive down from Philadelphia. That is, when you start off headed in the right direction on interstate 95 and then don’t miss your exit off of 495!  When you do things like that the trip suddenly turns into a 5.5 hour trip. Oh well! We made it here in due time.

Thursday I was so excited about my bagel thins find at the grocery store that I forgot to mention what else I discovered.

In case you can’t tell from the picture those are nut butter machines. As in, you put in the nut of your choice, salted or unslated, and the machine turns it into butter. Nirvana! As badly as I wanted to try the Almond Butter I of course went for the salted peanuts.  They had some already made so I just picked up one of those but next time I’m going to make my own. Almond? Honey Peanut? Cashew? Decisions, decisions…

On our way out of the door yesterday with one eye open I spread some on a bagel thin and grabbed a banana for the ride.

About an hour into the ride I tried it and OMG! Seriously, and I do not say this lightly, the best peanut butter I have ever tasted!! Had I been able to have toasted the bagel thin I think my eyes would have rolled back in my head.

Have grocery stores always had these? How have I gone this long without them????

Unfortunately I do not have pictures from the rest of the day. Which is a shame because I had two excellent meals at my friend Mary’s restaurant The Cull Ring. For lunch I had a broiled crab cake and for dinner crab dip and  rock fish. I could have had a salad which also looked really good but like I said, I’m really working on the 20% this weekend (you better believe that rock fish was fried!). I spied some bacon wrapped scallops that I kid you not were the size of a baseball. If we make it back there this trip, and I’m sure we will, I will definitely be trying those. Oh how I love seafood!!!

Tonight we are headed to a clam bake at my friends Frank and Madeline’s. My mouth is already watering!!! Do you have friends that are just natural born entertainers? That’s Frank and Madeline.  Think Ina Garten on The Bay. You are never hungry and your glass is always full. Perfectly casual. Just the way I like it.

4 responses to “Country Roads Take Me Home

  1. Ginny, we should link up our blogs. By the way, did you bring any Margarita mix with you??? 😉

  2. Pray with me that our house will hurry up and sell! I want to move to civilization with cool grocery stores and healthier eating options!!!!

Leave a Reply

