Sunshine and Trader Joes… the makings of a good day!

I started the day off with one of my favorite peanut butter and banana concoctions.

I said favorite, not photogenic!! I discovered the recipe  while reading my favorite blog Eat, Live, Run. It really isn’t so much a recipe as a method.  My method this morning was to bring 1/2 C of Water with a 1/2 C of Soy Vanilla Milk  and a dash of salt to a boil. As soon as it begins to boil add 1/2 C of quick cook oats and a couple of dashes of cinnamon. I lower the heat a little bit at this point. Stir until the oats reach the desired consistency. Just as they’re about to reach that point add 1 T chunky peanut butter, 1 sliced banana and 3 sliced strawberries. Mix until creamy.

I had a bunch of errands to run this morning and was thrilled to do so in the warm sunshine!! I planned my errands so I could end at my favorite place…

I tried a new recipe for lunch today that was a pleasant little surprise.

Black Bean Burgers before the flip

And after…

I found the recipe here. I cut it in half and did not add the jalapeno or chili powder. It was awesome!! It had just the right amount of heat for me (I’m not a heat lover so you may want to add more cayenne pepper). I think the trick is to let the outside get nice and crispy. I topped it off with a slice of goat cheese, of course, and avocado. Yum!

I rounded out the meal with left over mashed cauliflower from last night and a salad made with spring mix, cuke, baby roma’s, broccoli slaw from Trader Joes (another trick I learned from Jenna at Eat, Live, Run), goat cheese and Ken’s Healthy Honey French Dressing.

Now back to work and to figure out some exercise for the afternoon. I thought but trying my luck on the elliptical today but as my knee is making an exceptionally loud noise with every step today I’m thinking I better put that off a bit longer!

2 responses to “Sunshine and Trader Joes… the makings of a good day!

  1. Today I”m having the mush for breakfast and the black bean burgers for dinner. (You really do need to put all your recipes on a page. ) Love ya!

Leave a Reply

